How To Create A DVD Mosaic!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How cool is this? A Mosaic made from old DVD’s…GENIUS! Not only is it beautiful, but its cheap too. Mosaics are usually made out of glass, stones, etc. However, if you’re on a budget like me (broke college student and all), DVD’s serve as a great alternative. I decided to test the DVD method out on an old jewelry box that I had stuffed in the back of my closet.

Supplies Needed: DVD’s (I used about 20), scissors, Mod Podge (or clear gloss spray if you have the cash), and a small paint brush.

Slide16

First I painted the jewelry box. I decided to go with pink because I thought it would be a good background color for the mosaic pieces.

Slide22

I applied several coats of paint, waiting about 15-20 minutes in between each coat.

While I waited for each coat to dry, I started working on the mosaic pieces. Slide12The number of DVD’s needed will vary, depending on the project. I used about 20 or so for mine.

Slide23

*Fun Fact: DVD’s have two layers – the top layer, which is silver, and the bottom layer, which is clear. The top layer has the purple, shiny stuff that makes the mosaic look awesome. You won’t need the clear layer for the mosaic, but you may want to save it for a future project.

Slide19

To make the separation processes easier, I cut them in half. I recommend working on this part outside (I learned the hard way lol).

Slide21

Now the two layers can be separated. This can be a little tricky but stick with it. I used my nails to separate the edges and then gently pulled the rest apart.

Slide14After that I applied Mod Podge to the DVD’s to keep the purple shiny stuff sealed on the disc. If you have the money, applying a clear gloss spray serves as a better sealer because it keeps the surface smooth.

Slide08I applied the Mod Podge with a small paint brush and let them dry for 15-20 minutes.

Slide25 Then I cut the discs into pieces.

Slide27

I experimented by cutting different shapes, but I recommend using similar cuts to make it easier to put the mosaic together. Weird angles can cause awkward spaces.

Look at all the pretty colors!

Slide15After all the pieces were cut, I began to piece together my mosaic. I applied a thin layer of mod podge to the back of the pieces and then firmly pressed them to the box for about 10-15 seconds.

This was my finished project:

Click here to see the blog post that inspired me.

Thanks for checking out my post. Check back next week for a brand new D.I.Y. project.

-Callie

logo

2 thoughts on “How To Create A DVD Mosaic!!

Leave a Reply

